Posted by

lyft-logo-1Road Stories 1

Last night was my first night as a driver for Lyft. I know I mentioned Uber already, but what I didn’t say was that the day after applying for Uber, I applied for Lyft. I got an email at about noon from them saying that I was approved and I could start driving as soon as I wanted.

At about 20:00 last night, I did just that. I drove into Salt Lake City and it wasn’t long before I got my first passenger, or ‘passengers’, I should say. They were a group of friends leaving a bar downtown and headed south. I told them that I was rather excited because they were my first passengers… ever! This made them extra-hyper and they told me I was a great driver (booyah!).

Throughout the night, I had other such passengers as:

  1. A guy from Portland who was raised in a home where his parents love to smoke weed, but since they were “purists”, they would only smoke the weed that they’d grown themselves. He attends the University of Utah and love Utah, but isn’t sure what to think about the snow. He adds that- “Living in Utah has taught me how to drink heavily.” What I think he meant was – Attending college has taught me to drink heavily. Let’s not blame Utah for this.
  2. The two guys from northern Idaho who are in Salt Lake City on an eleven-day cheer competition. I’m not sure how this works, but they said they had about four other competitions all around the country and are having to buy all their airline tickets out-of-pocket. No, I didn’t tell them what my day job was. That always brings up the question of whether or not I have buddy passes for them to fly free with. Nope, I don’t.
  3. The guy who is just getting over the flu and had 8 minutes for me to drive him across town to an all-night pharmacy so he could get more drugs. I drove fast, and we made it before they locked the doors for the night- and I decided to not wait for him even though he said he’d “…just be a sec.” I’m sorry but I’ve avoided the flu since high school and I don’t plan on changing that fact tonight. Peace, out!
  4. The two girls from Twin Falls, Idaho who are too young to drive, and upset that there prepaid Verizon cell phones were out of minutes and they have no money to get more. They happen to be in town to attend a two-day rave at The Great Saltair (by the way, my mom told me that she remembers attending a dance there, way back when she was a student at Brigham Young University and dinosaurs roamed the earth. I don’t think it was a rave, however, and I’m pretty sure my mom never had that many piercings in her face).
  5. The guy who works as a cook at a local hotel restaurant and finds that it’s cheaper for him to take services like Lyft and Uber to go back and forth rather than forking out the money for his own vehicle. He told me that he’s hoping to inherit his dad’s old truck someday.

I’m happy to say that I had a fun night. No, this will not become my number one job. I don’t know if it will make much money especially with vehicle expenses and the fact that 10% of everything I make goes to my church. I’m calling this Road Stories (I created a new tag and everything). Hopefully, each time I drive I’ll be able to have some interesting or funny stories to share. I’m crossing my fingers that I don’t have the vomit-in-car type of stories. I’m not too worried since I doubt I’ll ever stay out until the bars close. I was out until about 01:45, however. For me, that is very, very late!

One lesson I learned last night: Remember to turn off your driving app when you want to be done for the night, otherwise you end up having to drive all the way back downtown when you were already 30 minutes away! Lesson learned!

P.S. If anyone wants to become a driver, or anyone wants to try riding with Lyft for the first time, let me know. I have a code that allows you to get a discount and gives me a little cash. 😉

Leave a Reply

