Posted by

I have been a flight attendant for a long enough time, that I no longer have to work reserve trips. What does that mean? That means that I pretty much know where I’m going in advance. When a flight attendant has to work reserve, he or she is usually going to get an assignment at the last minute, in case there are any work trips that haven’t been covered yet. Another use for a reserve flight attendant is if another flight attendant calls in sick. This means that the reserve flight attendant will often get a call from our scheduling department in the middle of the night.

The only time this happens to me is if I assign a reserve trip to myself. This month is such a case. One of my coworkers was desperate to get rid of her reserve days, and so she traded me for some days that I needed off. Our schedule is pretty flexible and so this is done quite often. We hope to trade around for the right days or the right overnights where we’d like to end up.

Often, when given a reserve assignment, it’s not the best trip. Many of these trips are “bottom of the barrel” and so they are trips that nobody really wanted. Every once in awhile, however, the flight attendant will luck out and be giving the ultimate awesome trip. This was the case for me, this past week.

On the second night of my trip, after working two short legs, I ended up in Nashville, Tennessee. This happens to be one of my favorite overnights. I was given over twenty hours there, so I decided to head downtown and find and early dinner. I ended up at Jack’s on broadway. Yes, this restaurant is a definite tourist attraction, but also has some really great barbecue!

After eating, I did a google search on my phone to see if there was any shows or events in town. Since I was in “Music City, U.S.A”, I thought that maybe I could find some last-minute event tickets. It is with great excitement that I can now check off number 44 of my bucket list! Even at this last hour, I managed to get me a ticket to the Grand Ole Opry!

Since I had a few hours to kill before the show was to start, I decided to go and take a look at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. This was amazing! Memorabilia from so many of the artists that I’ve grown up listening to was here!

img_6484img_6485img_6486img_6487img_6488img_6489img_6490img_6491

img_6493img_6494img_6495img_6496IMG_6497.JPGIMG_6498.JPGIMG_6499.JPGIMG_6500.JPGIMG_6501.JPGIMG_6502.JPGIMG_6503.JPGIMG_6504.JPGIMG_6507.JPGIMG_6508.JPGIMG_6509.JPGIMG_6510.JPGIMG_6511.JPGIMG_6512.JPG

The concert was amazing- they had been having it at the Opry house, but this time they were back at the Ryman, which is something that I have always wanted to experience!

img_6513img_6519img_6521img_6523img_6524img_6527img_6528img_6529img_6530img_6531

The artists who performed: Jeannie Sealy, Mike Snider, Kelsey Waldon, Jon Conlee, Connie Smith, Jamey Johnson, Riders In The Sky, Jesse McReynolds, Jamie Lynn Spears, Bill Anderson, The SteelDrivers and Kristian Busch. My favorite artists in this list were Connie Smith, Jamey Johnson (he surprised everyone and showed up with Allison Krauss!), The SteelDrivers and Kristian Busch.

So- all of the artists did two songs, but when Kristian Busch played, he only played one song. I thought that was rather odd since he appeared to be the headliner for that evening. When he was leaving the stage, the announcer said that we were going to have a commercial break and then he had a surprise for us. Since it was getting late, I decided that it was time to head back to my hotel since I had to be up early the next morning.

I left through the gift shop, and as I was purchasing my shot glass, the lady ringing me up told me that there was a surprise and that I needed to head back into the auditorium. I told her that I had to be up early the next morning, but she looked me in the eye and said, “Trust me! There’s a surprise and you need to go back into the auditorium!”. I found that odd but did as she said.

As I re-entered the auditorium, I saw a band that had set up but there was no one at the mic. All of a sudden GARTH BROOKS walks out. The crowd went wild! I’m so glad that gal told me to go back in! After singing The Thunder Rolls, Garth said, “I want to introduce you to someone!” TRISHA YEARWOOD walks out! So- going to a Trisha Yearwood concert is actually number 97 on my bucket list (not even joking), and I had already added going to a Garth Brooks concert on my Second Bucket List! I don’t count this as a check-mark since they both only sang two songs each, but it was great to hear them live!

Leave a Reply

